Menu Enter a recipe name, ingredient, keyword...

Alternative Grain Beers to Try

Whether you're looking for a gluten-free option or just expanding your palate, you'll want to crack open a few of these cold ones. 

© Thinkstock

What is "Alternative Grain Beer?"

Conventionally, beer is made using barley and/or wheat. While these grains give beer its distinctive taste, they're not essential to the beer-making process. Alternative grain beers range in taste and composition; some mimic the flavor of regular beer, while others incorporate other flavors. 

Not all alternative grain beers are gluten-free. Some mix grains like oat, rice, or sorghum with the traditional barley or wheat, while others use the alternative grains exclusively. 


More steaming articles



Comment on this article